After collecting feedback from you on your needs and delving into usage statistics, library faculty made difficult decisions in their final recommendations. Interim Library Dean Keith Ewing reviewed the library faculty recommendations, recommended a few additional cancellations, and approved for cancellation the titles below. None of the decisions were easy. To look at the entire list at once with total dollar amount cut, please click on the link below for the databases, serials (journals), and standing orders (reference titles) that will end in FY 2018. The list is also broken up on this guide by databases, serials, and standing orders. The Collection Management Task Force will provide the end dates of when the library will lose access to these resources as they are confirmed.
FY 18 Subscription Cancellations
If you or other faculty have any major questions or concerns, especially for any potential critical affect upon your teaching or student research that cannot be mitigated by the availability of other resources, please describe your concerns in an email to email@example.com.
As noted previously, a more detailed evaluation ending in recommendations for additional cuts will occur during Fall semester for cancellations to occur in FY2019. These cuts are are required as a result of both cuts in the University budget allocations and increases in annual subscription rates. If you would like additional information about the subscription rate increases, please contact the above email address.
We appreciate your assistance, patience, and support throughout this process. We would not have accomplished as much as we have without your input. My many thanks to the library faculty on the task force and to faculty across campus who participated in the survey and shared their concerns.
|Approved Reduction Total||Continued Access Notes|
|Database||ABI/INFORM (HSB Negotiation)||O||18,897.12|
|Database||Alexander Street Press (ASP) Premium Video Collection||O||0.00|
|Database||Associated Press (AP) Images||O||4,454.00|
|Database||CREDO Reference Collection for Business||O||2,627.00|
|Database||CREDO Reference Subject Collection for Criminal Justice||O||1,704.00|
|Database||CREDO Reference Subject Collection for Economics||O||1,814.00|
|Database||CREDO Reference Subject Collection for Gender and Womens Studies||O||1,915.00|
|Database||CREDO Reference Subject Collection for Philosophy||O||2,439.00|
|Standing Order||Accounting Trends & Techniques||P||167.47|
|Standing Order||Annual Statement Studies||P||382.00|
|Standing Order||Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research||P||275.00|
|Standing Order||Hoover's Complete Handbook Set (American Business, World Business, Private Companies, Emerging Companies)||P||869.00|
|Standing Order||International Directory of Company Histories||P||4,561.80|
|Standing Order||PPC's Guide to Auditor's Reports||P||277.75|
|Standing Order||PPC's Guide to Audits of Nonpublic Companies||P||340.00|
|Standing Order||Principal International Businesses Directory||P||1,245.00|
|Standing Order||Wiley CPA Exam Review: Auditing & Attestation||P||0.00|
|Standing Order||Wiley CPA Exam Review: Business Environment & Concepts||P||0.00|
|Standing Order||Wiley CPA Exam Review: Financial Accounting & Reporting||P||0.00|
|Standing Order||Wiley CPA Exam Review: Regulation||P||0.00|
On Increasing Costs Over TimeThe increasing cost of academic journals--a problem that every university library faces--is outpacing the national rate of inflation. One can follow the trend from this chart, provided by the University of California Santa Barbara's "Budget Challenges" subject guide, and reproducd in the University of Maryland "Why Do We Have to Cut Journals?" subject guide:
A recent Library Journal article providing more information about the rising cost of journals, as well as the average cost per journal by discipline, may be found here.
On the state of St. Cloud State University Library in Particular (derived from SCSU Library data):
In FY 2008, serials and databases made up 80% of the SCSU University Library budget. Over time, costs continued to rise, but funds became scarce. As the Library experienced budget decreases, the collections budget became depleted by ongoing subscriptions for databases and journals, leaving no funds for books or DVDs.
LINK TO SURVEY
Professor, Research Librarian
Associate Professor, E-Resources/Serials Librarian
Assistant Professor, Emerging Technologies and Systems Librarian
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian