Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
Image source: NCSU Libraries
From Idea to Library
Video tutorial on how scholarly articles are written, published, and made accessible to researchers and students. From the NCSU Libraries.
Teach Yourself: Understanding Scholarly Sources
Compare and contrast the following articles. What makes one popular and the other scholarly?
- Reynolds, A., Sneva, J., & Beehler, G. (2010). The Influence of Racism-Related Stress on the Academic Motivation of Black and Latino/a Students. Journal Of College Student Development, (2), 135-149.
- Stephen, C. (2007). The Stress of Being Black. Crisis, 114(1), 10.
Limit to new materials on race (available on the Multicultural Resource Center shelves)
- Academic libraries contain materials that support the curriculum, or what is taught and studied at the college or university.
- Most academic libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) Call Number System to organize their physical items.
- When you search for books, videos, or other materials in the library catalog (MnPALS), you find information about each item. This information is displayed in what's called a "record." For instance, a record for a book looks like this:
To find the book, you must look for it in the library using its Call Number and its location. In our example, we can see that the item is Available and is in the Main Collection - Basement. The call number, LC67.62 .M58 2010, translates to...
- Subclass LC -- “Special aspects of education” -- Shelved in alphabetical order
- 67.62 -- “Social aspects of education. Economic aspects of education.” -- Shelved numerically as a whole number, sometimes with a decimal
- .M58 -- (a.k.a. the Cutter line) author’s last name, “Mullen” -- Shelved alphabetically by the letter, then numerically as a decimal
- 2010 -- the year the book was published -- Shelved in chronological order
Citizen: An American Lyric
by Claudia Rankine
Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry and the Bobbitt National Poetry Prize, as well as finalist for the National Book Award, Citizen: An American Lyric is a collection of prose, poetry and images that provides a provocative analysis of race in America, with a deep commitment to advancing equality.
The Common Reading Program is a comprehensive first-year experience for students new to St.Cloud State University. It provides new first year students a coordinated, academic transition experience throughout their first academic year.
Citizen in the Classroom, Citizen in the World resources on the book from the publisher of Citizen
Helpful essays about how to read poetry.
Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.
Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.
Make an appointment with a writing tutor.
Multicultural Resource Center (MRC)
An academic center that supports those who are learning, researching, or teaching about the experiences of people of color in the United States. Books in the MRC collection are on Miller Center 1st floor, near MC 137.
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, etc) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue) Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Associate Professor, Research Librarian