University Library at St. Cloud State University

CFS 422: Family Studies: Parent Involvement

Finding scholarly journal articles
Journals published by National Council on Family Relations are all available full text through SCSU library databases
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.


Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.


CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.

Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.


FindIt!  This software checks all SCSU library databases to locate full text of articles. If full text is not available, read the screen to see if the library has a copy in another format (bound volumes, microfiche, recent issues) or if you need to use interlibrary loan to get a copy.
Tips for Database Searching
​1. Limits: To focus your search, use database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date and publication type such as peer-reviewed journals.

2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are displayed -- many databases sort by relevance rather than by date.

3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic.

4. Get an Article: If the full text of the article is not available in the database you're searching, use 

5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search.

For more tips, watch "How Can I Develop an Effective Search Strategy?"
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Related Guides
Citation Styles
Legal and Free
Find resources that are legal and free to use for online instruction, presentations, and non-commercial performances!
 
Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.

As you work on your assignment, schedule a meeting with me for in-depth guidance on finding the best resources for your topic. 
Statistics
Child Trends Databank Indicators 

ChildStats.gov
Statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
The mission of the DRC is to advance the effective use of public data on the status of children’s health and health-related services for children, youth and families in the United States. Provides hands-on access to national, state, and regional data findings from large population-based surveys. Data are collected from parents and thus contribute a much needed voice in the drive to improve the quality of health care for children and youth. 

Kids Count Data Center 
Getting Background Information
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Finding Scholarly Articles on the Job
After you receive your degree, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your public library to log on to these databases. You will have access to any full-text articles on the database. You may be able to work with your public library to get copies of articles not available through ELM.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota Unrestricted Resource elm database
ELM (eLibraryMN) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, newspaper and encyclopedia articles; media including images, videos, audio files; and other information resources via a selection of databases.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University