Start with:Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Full-text articles in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Other databases to try:
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Professional Development Collection
Full-text access to 520 periodicals related to education, including 350 peer-reviewed journals. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.
SAGE Journals Online
Full text of over 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Social Services Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Provides test users with descriptive information, citations to test references, and critical reviews of testing instruments. Covers the Ninth Mental Measurements (1985) to the present; previous editions are available in the Reference Collection. Also includes Tests in Print, a listing of testing tools and test reviews. Provides test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.
Click Advanced Search for more options.
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
Use WorldCat to locate a book to access through interlibrary loan. Search using key words. If you already know a book title, search by the title. At book record, click and the computer will take you to an interlibrary form. To request that book be delivered for you at SCSU, click interlibrary loan link and fill out the form. You will need your StarID and password.
Professor, Research Librarian
Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.
As you work on your culminating project, schedule a meeting with me for in-depth guidance on finding the best resources for your topic.
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the library on the first floor.
The Write Place also consults online by appointment during office hours. Click Make an Appointment and after the login, click Online Appointment box to schedule.
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
RefWorks YouTube Tutorials
Recommended tutorial: 2.4 Finding Full Text and Saving File Attachments in RefWorks
American Counseling Association Code of Ethics
American Rehabilitation Counseling Association (ARCA)
American School Counselor Assocation (ASCA)
Association for Multicultural Counseling and Development (AMCD)
American Mental Health Counselors Association (AMHCA)
ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota
ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; eBooks (electronic books); and information from other reference sources via a selection of databases.
On the ELM homepage, click Minnesota Community. Click Databases for You, then A to Z, then use Choose a Database pulldown menu to select Academic Search Premier. Use the Advanced Search to locate journal articles.
You will then have access to any full-text articles on the database. You may be able to work with your public library to get copies of articles not available through ELM.