University Library at St. Cloud State University

ART 439: History of Photography (Happel Christian)

Resources for ART 439

Image courtesy of the St. Cloud State University Archives.
Explore your topic
Search for background and overview information on your topic. Search includes Grove Art Online, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia:
Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
More than 41,000 scholarly articles covering all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes numerous links to other Web resources including images.
Find scholarly journal articles in Art
Art Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, including full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. Also provides indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Note: For articles published from 1929-1984, use the print version of Art Index, available on the Miller Center Reference Index Shelves.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides access to scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, philosophy, and more. Some journals have "moving wall" access that does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
 
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.
 
Differences between journals and magazines
Research Guides and Style Manuals
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and other citation styles, and use Mendeley or Zotero to manage your references and format your bibliography.
RefWorks and citation managers

Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere.

Mendeley Unrestricted Resource
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Zotero Unrestricted Resource
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use, standalone software program that works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari. It allows users to collect, manage, and cite your research sources (similar to RefWorks).
Find images
CAMIO Restricted Resource elm Resource contains imagesdatabase
A growing online collection of images documenting works of art from around the world. Images cover photographs, prints, sculpture, paintings, decorative arts, costume and jewelry, textiles, architecture and more. Images may be used for educational and research purposes, but may not be published or otherwise distributed.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

Research consultation
As you continue your research, I would be happy to meet with you for a research consultation. Research consultations are intended to give you in-depth assistance in identifying and locating the resources most useful for your project. Please complete the form on our Ask a Librarian page to schedule a consultation.
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Art books in the Miller Center
Miller Center 3rd Floor:

map
 
Most art books are on the 3rd floor of the Miller Center Library.

Art book call numbers start with:
N = visual arts
NA = architecture
NB = sculpture
NC = drawing, design, illustration
ND = painting
NE = print media
NK = decorative arts
NX = arts in general

Oversized art books are located on the far west end of the Ns near the NXs.
 
Miller Center west Basement:

 

Photography books are in the west basement of the Miller Center Library. Photography book call numbers start with:

TR1-1050 Photography
TR250-265 Cameras
TR287-500 Photographic processing. Darkroom technique
TR504-508 Transparencies. Diapositives
TR510-545 Color photography
TR550-581 Studio and laboratory
TR590-620 Lighting
TR624-835 Applied photography (artistic, commercial, medical photography, photocopying processes)
TR845-899 Cinematography. Motion pictures
TR925-1050 Photomechanical processes
WorldCat
WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.
Interlibrary Loan
On Library homepage, select Borrow, Request, Renew to find the Interlibrary Loan link:
http://www.stcloudstate.edu/library/borrow/interlibrary.aspx
  • From the above link select Request an article for articles SCSU Library does not own. (For books SCSU does not own, select Request a book.)
  • Login using your StarID and password.
  • Fill out the required fields of the form. 
  • Be sure to check the copyright agreement box.
  • Select Submit Request. Watch your SCSU email for information about your request.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University